from HITCHCOCKWOODS.org :
HISTORY OF HITCHCOCK WOODS
Hitchcock Woods is closely associated with Aiken’s early history as a winter resort and a center of sporting activity. Originally, Hitchcock Woods was part of a much larger tract of land purchased 1w Thomas Hitchcock and William C. Whitney. In 1939, Thomas Hitchcock and his daughter Helen Clark established the Hitchcock Foundation with the donation of almost 1200 acres of land. Mr. Hitchcock and Mrs. Clark became the first trustees of the Hitchcock Foundation, which was established to protect and maintain the woods for the recreational use and enjoyment by the people of Aiken.
In 1985, the Hitchcock Foundation purchased an additional 230 acres of land adjacent to the original tract. In the spring of 1991, the Aiken Preparatory School made a generous gift of 270 acres to the Foundation. An ambitious Campaign to Save The Woods involving many dedicated people resulted in the acquisition of 198 acres adjacent to the property previously owned by the Aiken Preparatory School. A gift from the Foxchase Homeowner’s Association brings the total acreage owned by the Foundation to nearly 2000 acres.
Hitchcock Woods offers visitors the natural beauty and quiet solitude of a unique southern forest located in the midst of an urban area, The City of Aiken. Maintenance of the trails, jumps, bridges. signs, map boxes, as well as protection and management of the natural resources in the Woods, are all directed by the trustees who serve in the same spirit as the founding trustees.
if you ever have the chance - it is a wonderful place to visit.